28thJuly 1969

(Under Directorate of AYUSH, Dept. of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. Of Odisha)

Biju Pattnaik Homoeopathic Medical College and Hospital is one of the premier Institution & only one of the oldest Homoeopathic Medical College of Southern Odisha. This College was Established Privately in 28th July 1969 by Dr.Y.Sahu and other Eminent Homoeopaths of Brahmapur, popularly known as Silk City of Odisha. The College started under the Management of Co-operative Society and named as Co-operative Homoeopathic Medical College & Hospital, Brahmapur. The College building was Inaugurated on 28 July, 1969 by the then Honourable Governor of Orissa SJ. B.D.Jatti. The College was initially imparting teaching in D.H.M.S Course (Diploma in Homoeopathic Medicine & Surgery) of 4½ Years duration including Six Months Internship training awarded by the Odisha State Board of Homoeopathic Medicine, Bhubaneswar . Later with recognition by the Central Council of Homoeopathy, New-Delhi. Since then, this College is following all the rules, regulations and norms decided by the apex Organization from time to time.

Degree Course B.H.M.S (Bachelor of Homoeopathic Medicine & Surgery) of 5½ Years duration including One year Internship training was introduced in this College in 1977 after its affiliation to Brahmapur University. Since then all its Curriculum and Examinations are conducted as per the guidelines provided by the University from time to time. On 12-05-1994 this College was fully taken over by Govt. Of Odisha (Health and Family Welfare Department) during the period of Chief Minister Sri. Bijayananda Pattanaik. On 30-08-2001, the Name of Co-Operative Homoeopathic Medical College & Hospital was renamed as Biju Pattanaik Homoeopathic Medical College & Hospital in the memory of our beloved Ex-Chief Minister of Odisha. Now the Admission process is through the ranking of NEET examination by NTA.